A Swansea Story

  1. A Swansea Story

    A Swansea Story-logo.jpg

    Swansea City Association Football Club is a Welsh professional football club based in the city of Swansea, South Wales that plays in the Premier League. Swansea City represent England when playing in European competitions, although they have represented Wales in the past. They play their home matches at the Liberty Stadium.
    The club was founded in 1912 as Swansea Town and joined the Football League in 1921. The club changed their name in 1969, when it adopted the name Swansea City to reflect Swansea's new status as a city.
    In 1981, the club were promoted to the original Football League First Division. It was during the following season they came close to winning the league title, but a decline then set near the season's end before finishing sixth, although a club record. It was from here the club suffered a relegation the season after, returning to the Football League Fourth Division a few seasons later, then narrowly avoided relegation to the Football Conference in2003. Prior to playing home matches at the Liberty Stadium, the team had previously hosted at the Vetch Field. The Swansea City Supporters Society Ltd owns 20% of the club, with their involvement hailed by Supporters Direct as "the most high profile example of the involvement of a supporters' trust in the direct running of a club".
    In 2011, Swansea were promoted to the English Premier League, becoming the first Welsh team to play in the top division since its formation in 1992. On 24 February 2013, Swansea beat Bradford City 5-0 to win the 2012-13 Football League Cup (the competition's highest ever winning margin for the final), winning the first major English trophy in the club's history and qualifying for the 2013-14 UEFA Europa League.


    The Football League
    English second tier (currently Sky Bet Championship)
    Promoted (1): 1980-81
    Play-off winners (1): 2010-11

    English third tier (currently Sky Bet League 1)
    Winners (3): 1924-25, 1948-49, 2007-08
    Promoted (1): 1978-79

    English fourth tier (currently Sky Bet League 2)
    Winners (1): 1999-2000
    Promoted (3): 1969-70, 1977-78, 2004-05
    Play-off winners (1): 1987-88

    Domestic Cup Competition
    Football League Cup
    Winners (1): 2012-13
    FA Cup
    Semi-finalists (2): 1925-26, 1963-64

    Football League Trophy
    Winners (2): 1993-94, 2005-06
    Winners (10): 1912-13, 1931-32, 1949-50, 1960-61, 1965-66, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1988-89, 1990-91
    Runners-up (8): 1914-15, 1925-26, 1937-38, 1939-40, 1948-49, 1955-56, 1956-57, 1968-69

    FAW Premier Cup
    Winners (2): 2004-05, 2005-06
    Runners-up (2): 2000-01, 2001-02

    European Competition
    UEFA Cup Winners' Cup
    Qualification: 1961-62, 1966-67, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1989-90, 1991-92

    UEFA Europa League
    Qualification: 2013-14

    A Swansea Story-swansea-13-14-kits.jpg

    Last edited by Patman6000; 30/01/2014 at 07:57 PM.

+ Reply to Thread

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO