allezdae

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a complete newbie in terms of posting, but I've spent many months reading your stories and I really enjoy following them, it really enhances the joys of playing FM. Anyway, I've started a story of my own, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoy your work. I'll update it as often as I can.

AC_Ajaccio.png

Ajacci-who?

The footballing world was in typically ebullient mood last night, as fans across Europe get ready for pre-season. The news everybody’s (not) talking about comes from the French island of Corsica, where Ligue 2 outfit AC Ajaccio confirmed that they had replaced their relatively unknown coach, Olivier Pantaloni, with the completely unknown young Englishman, David Pickup.

In an interview on local radio, club president Alain Orsoni described his decision as “radical, controversial, and hopefully not ruinous”. The president had apparently become disillusioned with the stagnation of the last few seasons in the second tier of French football, and for reasons which will probably forever remain unclear, sought to turn things around with the appointment of Pickup, who is best known for once playing 20 minutes on the left wing in a West Cheshire League reserves match.

attachment.php

Pickup outlines plans for Ajaccio revolution

In a whirlwind 24 hours, rookie manager David Pickup has swapped the north of England for the beautiful surroundings of Stade François Coty in Ajaccio, the capital of Corsica. In his first interview since taking the reins of AC Ajaccio, Pickup explained his vision for the perennial strugglers.

“I want us to be back up with the big boys in Ligue 1. We are a proud club, representing a proud city and a fiercely passionate island. Scraping across the survival line in Ligue 2 just isn’t good enough. My contract here is for two years, initially: by the end of that time, I want promotion.