CaptiveBridge

Reaction score
Introduction
Hi. I think this may be my first ever thread created, so forgive me if it seems a bit undirected. The main thing I would like is opinions on how to breakdown or negate my tactic. If I know where it falters, I can think of workarounds when the need arises. I've seen a fair bit during my play that cause me a few issues - namely 4-4-2 Narrow Diamonds, overlapping fullbacks, etc and I've had to react to those situations. So it's not that I'm without tactical knowledge, would just want to open my ideas to criticisms (constructive on-topic criticisms). I'm managing 1860 Munich in March 2017 pushing for promotion to the Bundesliga. This is my first FM16 save, so I'm still learning the new stuff.

Tactical Philosophy
If I were to describe my tactical outlook, it'd have three tenets:
  • Positioning - as a unit to push the opposition back so our average field positioning is higher up the pitch.
  • Width - maintaining lateral width to increase playing surface and the zones in which the team pressures the opposition back up the pitch.
  • Balance - to unbalance the opponents defensively by layering quick attacks and offensively by having the ball spend more time in areas where I cannot be directly hurt.
This, to me, translates to a high tempo, wide, high block tactic which combines the positional work of possession tactics and counterpress.

The Formation

View attachment 170839
I did mention that it's Strikerless, right? So the initial basis for the formation came out of the Shadow Striker Domination tactic by mcconnor8, Guido's website, and the Passion4FM website as well. That coupled with how I wanted to play led me to settle upon the 4-1-2-3-0 you see above.
View attachment 170856

Nothing special with player instructions with the exception of the GK, CBs, and AMCL/AMCR.